FESPACO 2021 Special Prizes revealed

More than CFA 96,000,000 including CFA 43,000,000 in contribution, for winners

The official Special Prizes list was presented to media people and movie industry professionals at a meeting on Monday 18 October 2021. Special Prizes Commission President Michel SABA said that these prizes aim to encourage filmmakers and support the promotion of African and Diaspora cinema. Special prizes are awarded according to FESPACO rules of procedures. There are 12 donors this year and prizes are organized into the following four categories: The first category includes Parliaments, sub-regional and international bodies, United Nations specialized agencies, NGOs and local governments. Registration fee for this category is CFA 5,000,000 per donor. The second category welcomes States or diplomatic representations accredited in Burkina Faso, with CFA 4,000,000 for registration fee. The third category is reserved for private structures, State-owned companies and so on, registering for CFA 3,000,000. The fourth category is for associations, mutual organizations, professional or faith-based organizations, paying CFA 2,000,000 as registration fee. Each special prize jury is comprised of five members, and each donor has a jury except UEMOA with three. The special prize awards ceremony is scheduled to take place on 22 October 2021 at 4 pm at Hotel Silmandé.

Parfait Fabrice SAWADOGO